Mississippi becomes latest
state to regulate Uber, Lyft
By Trudy Knockless, PropertyCasualty360.com
Mississippi will begin regu- lating Uber, Lyft and other ide-hailing services on a statewide basis beginning
Recently, Gov. Phil Bryant (R) signed
House Bill 1381, which puts the state’s
Insurance Department in charge of regulating so-called transportation network
companies. Regulation of taxi services
had traditionally been left to cities in
The law requires each transportation
network company to pay a $5,000 yearly
license fee and requires the driver or the
company to have insurance covering the
transportation of passengers. While car-
rying passengers, the driver
would have to be insured for up
to $1 million.
Transportation network companies also have to conduct criminal
background checks on drivers, and display a driver’s picture and license plate
number online before a passenger is
“Bringing clarity and consistency to
rideshare insurance laws while enhancing
consumer choice and protections was a top
priority for PCI in Mississippi and around
the country. We commend the legislature
and governor for taking action to close the
TNC insurance gaps and ensuring that the
people of Mississippi are protected in the
event an accident occurs,” said Joe Woods,
vice president of government relations for
the Chicago-based Property Casualty In-
surers Association of America.
According to PCI, Mississippi is the
32nd state to adopt ridesharing legislation. Colorado was the first state, followed by California. Nine states currently
have similar pending legislation: New
Jersey, New York, Alabama, Iowa, Missouri, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, New
Hampshire and Vermont.
INSPECTIONS APPRAISALS TITLES AUCTION
© 2016 Insurance Auto Auctions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Your total loss claims needs go beyond the auction lanes. Does your partner?
Visit IAA-Auctions.com/ClaimsServices to learn more.
REDEFINING TOTAL LOSS